GN and T-Type Performance Enthusiasts (GNTTYPE) Forums GN and T-Type Performance Enthusiasts (GNTTYPE) Forums
This is a general site search and does not include list archives.

Go Back   GN and T-Type Performance Enthusiasts (GNTTYPE) Forums > Technical Topics > Engine Electrical/Ignition

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-26-2007, 02:33 PM
runnerps runnerps is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3
runnerps is on a distinguished road
Default Crankshaft sensor

After I replaced the timing chain and gears, on my 87 turbo GN, and reinstalled the timing gear cover, the crankshaft sensor did not line up with the pickup ring on the harmonic balancer. I found that the sensor had move. My question is which slot in the crankshaft sensor do I align with the harmonic balancer pickup ring. The sensor has 2 slots. I think I need to use the first slot, closes to the crankshaft.
Any advice on this and also how do I make sure it does not move while on the car.
Thanks Runnerps
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-26-2007, 07:48 PM
kenmosher's Avatar
kenmosher kenmosher is offline
Whoosh
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: CO
Posts: 3,984
kenmosher is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Crankshaft sensor

http://www.gnttype.org/forums/showthread.php?t=4380The correct slot is the slot closest to the engine ...
__________________
Ken Mosher
1987 GN original owner 650+ HP Black
2015 BMW 328xi XDrive wagon
2012 Volkswagen Tiguan (the Tig!) Night Blue Met (sold)
2006 Trailblazer SS Red Jewel Tint 395 HP AWD (sold)
2014 Silverado LTZ Crew 4WD
2012 Honda VFR 1200F Tahitian Blue (sold)
2015 BMW S1000R Racing Red
2013 Honda CBR500R Red (wife's bike)
2014 Triumph Bonneville T100
2003 Harley Davidson V Rod Anniversary Edition
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-27-2007, 09:40 AM
runnerps runnerps is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3
runnerps is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Crankshaft sensor

Thanks! I read the HELP page, about crankshaft sensors, from your link and I am a little confused. The link says the correct slot is closest the crank sensor connector (closest to the engine). The sensor connector is at the top of sensor away from the crankshaft, therefore the pickup ring would be in the last slot, the 2nd slot from the "Crankshaft". Help!

Can you tell me the correct spacing for the pickup ring in the crankshaft sensor? Can I use a filler gauge to set the gap? If so, what is the correct filler gauge to use?
Also, the crankshaft sensor does not move easily, but I am concerned it may move when the car is running. How do I make sure it does not move?
Thanks Again! Runnerps

Last edited by runnerps; 06-27-2007 at 09:59 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-27-2007, 12:55 PM
Keller's Avatar
Keller Keller is offline
GNTTYPE Founder
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Missouri
Posts: 9,417
Keller is on a distinguished road
Lightbulb Re: Crankshaft sensor

The slot used is closest to the crank.

The gap is supposed to be .024" on either side. I've used strips cut from a soda/pop bottle to set the gaps.

http://www.ajlc.waterloo.on.ca/cgi-b...2f199707%2f251
__________________
Scott Keller - GNTTYPE Founder & Moderator
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-29-2007, 02:46 PM
runnerps runnerps is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3
runnerps is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Crankshaft sensor

Thanks for your help! I will set the crankshaft sensor to the .024 and install my harmonic balancer.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-22-2012, 05:49 PM
Mr. Tip Top Mr. Tip Top is offline
mrtiptop
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: R.I.
Posts: 78
Mr. Tip Top is on a distinguished road
Question Re: Crankshaft sensor

Business card or match book cover ?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-23-2012, 04:10 PM
Keller's Avatar
Keller Keller is offline
GNTTYPE Founder
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Missouri
Posts: 9,417
Keller is on a distinguished road
Lightbulb Re: Crankshaft sensor

I assume that was a question?

Neither is likely that thick. Check with a micrometer or calipers.
__________________
Scott Keller - GNTTYPE Founder & Moderator
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-25-2012, 02:13 PM
Mr. Tip Top Mr. Tip Top is offline
mrtiptop
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: R.I.
Posts: 78
Mr. Tip Top is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Crankshaft sensor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keller View Post
I assume that was a question?

Neither is likely that thick. Check with a micrometer or calipers.
I cut a Piece of my AAA Card 2"X1/2" and Scotched taped the ends to the Harmonic Balancer !
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-25-2012, 05:12 PM
Keller's Avatar
Keller Keller is offline
GNTTYPE Founder
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Missouri
Posts: 9,417
Keller is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up Re: Crankshaft sensor

Let's just hope you don't need AAA!

My card measures around 0.028-0.029". A bit on the thicker side, but that should work.
__________________
Scott Keller - GNTTYPE Founder & Moderator
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:05 AM.


This page maintained by: gnttype-webmaster@gnttype.org

The content, images, text and multimedia displayed and contributed by the members of the Grand National and T-Type Performance Enthusiasts Organization are Copyright ©1996-2005. No part, section, image, article or whole of this site may be reposted or redisplayed without permission of the author/contributor and/or the Grand National and T-Type Performance Enthusiasts Organization.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.