GN and T-Type Performance Enthusiasts (GNTTYPE) Forums GN and T-Type Performance Enthusiasts (GNTTYPE) Forums
This is a general site search and does not include list archives.

Go Back   GN and T-Type Performance Enthusiasts (GNTTYPE) Forums > Technical Topics > Fuel Systems

Old 12-03-2011, 11:28 PM

jjurva is on a distinguished road
Default Rochester Carb Adjustment

I have an old rochester 2 jet on a buick v6. I see there are two fuel adjustment screws. Is one air and one fuel? Which is which? What is a good starting point as far as adjustment? Do these engines usually need vac advance?. As it stands now it will only run with the choke in a specific place and idles very high. won't run off choke if i don't have my foot on the peddle. Any way it sounds like a carb problem to me. Thanks for any help!
Old 12-04-2011, 12:06 PM
** BANNED **

chrisjkruse is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up Re: Rochester Carb Adjustment

I'm no expert whatsoever, but in my experience.... if it's not a vacuum leak..then its probably clogged jets in the carb. Not enough fuel. Try this, but be careful: It's and oldtimers trick..

Place a rag in one hand...rev the engine pretty high with the other hand..then choke the engine out with the rag over the carb till it just about stalls..then do this again several times. The choking effect directs all of the vacuum to the jets..and often sucks out the dirt..
It has a pretty good success rate believe it or not.
As far as info on the screw setting..I have no idea.
Old 12-04-2011, 12:44 PM
** BANNED **

chrisjkruse is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Rochester Carb Adjustment

uhh? is this a turbo car? because my method previously mentioned is for a non turbo.
Old 12-04-2011, 01:34 PM
GNTTYPE Founder

Keller is on a distinguished road
Lightbulb Re: Rochester Carb Adjustment

What year carb and motor? Is it a E2M DualJet / VariJet, or an older 2GV, etc.?