GN and T-Type Performance Enthusiasts (GNTTYPE) Forums GN and T-Type Performance Enthusiasts (GNTTYPE) Forums
This is a general site search and does not include list archives.

Go Back   GN and T-Type Performance Enthusiasts (GNTTYPE) Forums > Add-on Electronics and Electrical > Scan Tools

Old 06-12-2007, 08:36 AM

buds87gn is on a distinguished road
Default Scanmaster hook up

I got a scanmaster for my '87 but no instructions. Can anyone help?
Old 06-12-2007, 08:42 AM
GNTTYPE Founder

Keller is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up Re: Scanmaster hook up

http://www.fullthrottletech.com/showthread.php?t=1488
Old 08-01-2011, 01:00 PM

jlat is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Scanmaster hook up

hello; On the hook up I know the scanmaster has been out for a while but where is your favorite wire connection locations?
IBBY
Old 08-01-2011, 05:52 PM
GNTTYPE Founder

Keller is on a distinguished road
Lightbulb Re: Scanmaster hook up

Data pretty much has to come from the ALDL port or its wires. Power can be any ignition switched source, such as those in the fuse box. If you don't already have a fuse in line, you can add a small one with a connector from Radio Shack or somewhere similar.
Old 03-29-2014, 07:28 PM
Senior Contributor

pajeff87 is on a distinguished road

How about mounting options for the Scan Master? I have it on the bottom right side of the IP cluster surround right now, but the sight line isn't that great. Other options?
Old 03-30-2014, 05:03 AM
Senior Contributor

JAMIEPACURN is on a distinguished road

If I remember correctly I think there was three wires to the Scan Master. One wire goes to ground, one wire goes to a power source or ignition source, and the other wire goes to the orange wire (ECM wire) Its been awhile but wasn't to bad to install. Just make sure you use a good ground source!!!!