GN and T-Type Performance Enthusiasts (GNTTYPE) Forums GN and T-Type Performance Enthusiasts (GNTTYPE) Forums
This is a general site search and does not include list archives.

Go Back   GN and T-Type Performance Enthusiasts (GNTTYPE) Forums > FAQ and General > General Turbo Regal Questions

Old 05-28-2007, 09:51 AM

WhiteCamaro88 is on a distinguished road
Default Difference between gn's

Im new to the scene but im familar with fbodys which at least doesnt make me totallly green . Im looking into getting a gn im confused tho as im hearing all different opinions. I would first like to get the models straight what is intercooled what isnt , whats a plain gn , whats gnx ?? Im looking for a late 80 's gn thats intercooled and will be in the 13's stock which model is that also is this possible for my budget which is (max 12 thousand ) any help with these questions is appreciated
Old 05-28-2007, 11:09 AM
GNTTYPE Founder

Keller is on a distinguished road
Lightbulb Re: Difference between gn's

http://www.gnttype.org/general/product.html

'78-'83 TR's - Carburated
'84-'85 TR's - Fuel injected, non intercooled
'86-'87 TR's - Fuel injected, intercooled
'87 GNX - very limited production, modified

Other items in the "Resources" pulldown such as "V6 History" and "Buyer's Guide" and others will help you learn more.

A properly tuned intercooled TR with a chip should have no problem getting into the 13's.
Old 05-28-2007, 12:15 PM

Default Re: Difference between gn's

Oh that wasnt so bad but theres alot of myths with these so i hear " you can run 13 flat bone stock " lol thats not the case. Im looking to get one for around 12k max budget what times am i looking at ?? a tr intercooled n turbo with higher mileage seems thats what is around for that penny. What does a tr 86 ot 87 run bone stock will it beat a stock lt1 in a n fbody ?
Old 05-29-2007, 09:11 AM
Whoosh

kenmosher is on a distinguished road