GN and T-Type Performance Enthusiasts (GNTTYPE) Forums GN and T-Type Performance Enthusiasts (GNTTYPE) Forums
This is a general site search and does not include list archives.

Go Back   GN and T-Type Performance Enthusiasts (GNTTYPE) Forums > FAQ and General > Turbo Regal FAQs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-10-2006, 07:34 PM
kenmosher's Avatar
kenmosher kenmosher is offline
Whoosh
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: CO
Posts: 3,984
kenmosher is on a distinguished road
Default How do I hook up an aftermarket Tachometer?

Q: How do I hook up an aftermarket Tachometer?

A: If this is an 86/87, there is a green connector with a spade connector on the driver's side of the engine, roughly behind the A/C compressor. That has a 5v squarewave tach signal on it. It may take a 10k resitor between that and ground to work with some tachs.
__________________
Ken Mosher
1987 GN original owner 650+ HP Black
2015 BMW 328xi XDrive wagon
2012 Volkswagen Tiguan (the Tig!) Night Blue Met (sold)
2006 Trailblazer SS Red Jewel Tint 395 HP AWD (sold)
2014 Silverado LTZ Crew 4WD
2012 Honda VFR 1200F Tahitian Blue (sold)
2015 BMW S1000R Racing Red
2013 Honda CBR500R Red (wife's bike)
2014 Triumph Bonneville T100
2003 Harley Davidson V Rod Anniversary Edition
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-10-2006, 08:46 PM
PaCemkr86's Avatar
PaCemkr86 PaCemkr86 is offline
Tech Support
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 4,817
PaCemkr86 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to PaCemkr86
Default Re: How do I hook up an aftermarket Tachometer?

its the only green connector that has 2 wires at the connector
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-10-2006, 09:50 PM
Keller's Avatar
Keller Keller is offline
GNTTYPE Founder
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Missouri
Posts: 9,417
Keller is on a distinguished road
Exclamation Re: How do I hook up an aftermarket Tachometer?

It may be the only green connector...

Some tach's require modification as well. Such as VDO units. If your vendor doesn't do it, VDO might. See http://www.gnttype.org/techarea/bodygauges/vdotach.html However, some said this was no longer available. Check with VDO first.
__________________
Scott Keller - GNTTYPE Founder & Moderator
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-06-2007, 12:57 PM
86TURBO 86TURBO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 51
86TURBO is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How do I hook up an aftermarket Tachometer?

In regard to hooking up an aftermarket tach, my AutoMeter Sport Comp tach required that you cut a wire inside the tach for 6 cylinder operation and I wired it right into the green tach lead connector.
Vinny
__________________
1986 Turbo T-Type

Last edited by Keller; 04-07-2007 at 01:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-21-2007, 11:45 PM
DaveT DaveT is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 24
DaveT is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How do I hook up an aftermarket Tachometer?

With my auto meter ultra lite it just had little switches that you set for 6cyl 4cyl 8cyl etc... works great for me
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:53 AM.


This page maintained by: gnttype-webmaster@gnttype.org

The content, images, text and multimedia displayed and contributed by the members of the Grand National and T-Type Performance Enthusiasts Organization are Copyright ©1996-2005. No part, section, image, article or whole of this site may be reposted or redisplayed without permission of the author/contributor and/or the Grand National and T-Type Performance Enthusiasts Organization.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.